Snapchat uses a different system to manage your friends list than other popular social media platforms, for example, Facebook. So, finding friends on your Snapchat can be a bit of a hassle sometimes.
While you only see people disappearing from your friend list or in your search results when they block you, that’s not the case with Snapchat. So why did someone disappear from my Snapchat? Well, they may have changed their username, or they have updated their privacy settings.
In this article, we’ll describe in detail when and why someone might disappear from your Snapchat.
Table of Contents
- What Causes People to Disappear from Your Snapchat
- A Minor Fix for Disappearing Problem on My Snapchat
- Frequently Asked Questions And Answers
What Causes People to Disappear from Your Snapchat
Snapchat uses its own algorithm to show of list of people to interact with, based on your location, contacts, and interests. So, it is dynamic, meaning it will keep on changing. Therefore, people whom you see on top of your Quick Add list, may disappear tomorrow.
This doesn’t necessarily mean that they have blocked you. Also, someone appearing on your Snapchat doesn’t always mean that you appear on their Snapchat as well.
1. Your Preference has Changed (According to the Algorithm)
Snapchat only wants to show you what’s relevant. So, when someone who was appearing on your Quick Add list yet you haven’t added them for long, Snapchat removes them as an irrelevant suggestion. Remember, it all changes dynamically depending on your activity.
The other reason for that can be their preference change. It can happen that due to their recent activities, the algorithm no longer finds them a good fit for you. So. you stopped seeing them on your list.
Also, if they opt out of the Quick Add option, you will no longer be able to see them on your list. You can do so too, by going through your privacy settings.
2. Changed Username
As we’ve described earlier, Snapchat is not like other social media. When you add someone to your friend list on Snapchat, their username gets added to your account. But if for some reason, they change their username, their changed username will not get automatically added to your account. Therefore, you no longer will see them in your friend list.
To add them again, you need to do it with their new username.
3. Deactivated or Deleted Snapchat Account
If the other person has deactivated or deleted their Snapchat account, they will disappear from your Snapchat. It won’t show you any warning or notification, they will simply disappear. They won’t show up in your searches either.
A way to verify this is to check for their username from a different Snapchat account. If they don’t appear on another Snapchat account as well, they definitely have left Snapchat for good.
4. You Got Blocked or Removed from Friends
We’ve saved the worst for the last. If the other person has blocked or removed you from their friend list, you no longer will see that person on your Snapchat.
When blocked, you can’t send them snaps anymore, nor can you send texts. They too can’t see your stories anymore. Most importantly, due to you getting blocked, your friend list will change, as the algorithm will no longer suggest to you some of the people from the same network.
However, if you got removed, you can still send them a message, if their privacy settings allow for it. You can see their stories but not private ones. Neither of you will see the other in explore or Quick Add anymore.
A Minor Fix for Disappearing Problem on My Snapchat
So, if you don’t see people whom you’ve followed, try finding them on your friends’ Snapchat. If you can’t, then they have deleted their account.
However, when you are certain that they haven’t left and you’ve logged into the correct Snapchat account, clear the cache data from the settings in Snapchat (not from app settings). With a fresh reload, your friends should appear right back up.
Frequently Asked Questions And Answers
Why did my chat with someone on Snapchat disappear?
It’s possible that the other person has deleted the chat. Snapchat allows for that and you get no warning when it happens. Also, if the other person blocks you, your chat with that person will disappear without a trace.
How do you know if someone deleted you off Snapchat?
Try to see the other person’s Snapchat score. If you can’t, he or she has deleted you from Snapchat.
Does Snapchat delete friends randomly?
No, they don’t. Due to your or the other person’s recent activity, the algorithm may not show you in your list anymore. If that’s the case, you can easily find them by their username.
It is really confusing and sometimes very upsetting when your favorite person on Snapchat disappears. Following the methods that we have described here; you can quickly investigate whether that person has removed you or removed themselves from Snapchat.
If you have any related questions or know any share-worthy trick in this regard, please let us know in the comments. Thanks for reading.